your agency did what?!

no way Jose...

Howdie fellow humans šŸ‘‹ 

Itā€™s that time of week again

Thatā€™s right, itā€™s friday šŸ˜Ž

Which means you are probably finding any way possible to procrastinateā€¦

So I deeply appreciate your procrastination time šŸ„²

Anyway, today I am going to share a story of my man

ā€¦Benjiā€¦

(not his real name šŸ„ø but you get the point)

Benjiā€™s Ads: A Google Ads Tragedy

You see, Benji has been running his ads through an agency for some time now

but he couldnā€™t help but wonder if it was his industry that was driving performance down

or his agencyā€¦

So after another monthly meeting with his agency, he decided to reach out to me

Benji is actually a friend of mine

and the very fact that he wasnā€™t working with me to begin with

was a bit of a red flag already šŸ”» 

So I did my thingā€¦

Audit the account.

Well, the audit lasted a whole hourā€¦

I kept finding things

  1. Conversions werenā€™t setup right

  2. No negative keywords

  3. Broad match keywords resulting in $100s of wasted spend

  4. No AB tests

  5. Max Conversions bid strategy but there werenā€™t even conversion in the account šŸ«£

The list goes on but you get the point

ā

The worst part was when I asked him how much he was paying for this guyā€™s servicesā€¦

a whopping

ā€¦ $2500 ā€¦ per month šŸ’°ļø 

Well you can probably guess the ending to this storyā€¦

Benji fired his agency and started working with me

He saves $1800 every month

and is actually driving pipeline for his biz

the end

Great story Ian, but what does this mean for me?

So glad you asked šŸ™‚ā€ā†”ļø

Ask yourself, am I paying $697 / month for PPC servicesā€¦

If the answer is no - thenā€¦

Make sure you are seeing a good return from your PPC agencyā€™s work

And if you arenā€™t sure

You can always call your friendly neighborhood PPC agency

cough cough Optimize cough šŸ˜‰ 

Cool story, but Iā€™m an agency Ianā€¦

Yeah I havenā€™t forgot about you agency folks either

hereā€™s two ways to make the most of the past 300 words you read

  1. Reach out for partnership deets - you can whitelabel our services āœŒļø

  2. Checkout this guide on the 9 Google Ad AB tests you should be running in all your clientā€™s ad accounts

Until next time.

This is Ian ā€œThe Paid Media Guyā€ signing off šŸ¤“

P.S. We are starting to have guests on our podcast, if you would like to be one of the first, reply to this email šŸ¤—